Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4)

Summit County has been designated by the Utah Department of Environmental Quality as a small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4). This designation requires a Utah Pollution Discharge Elimination System (UPDES) Permit to be carried and enforced by the county to help improve water quality and eliminate pollutants associated with storm water runoff.

Summit County has created Storm Water Management Plan (SWMP) with six different minimum control measures. Each minimum control measures contains a list of Best Management Practices (BMP) to help educate the general public, businesses, contractors, and developers. These BMP's are aimed at reducing impacts to water quality associated with storm water run-off.