Eastern Summit County Planning District

Planning Commission Agenda and Staff Reports



Planning Commission Agenda and Staff Reports for each meeting are made available online on the Friday preceding the meeting.

The Planning Commission meets regularly on the 1st and 3rd Thursday of each month.

 1st Thursday meetings are held at: 3rd Thursday meetings are held at:
Kamas City Offices
170 North Main St.
Kamas, UT 84036
Summit County Courthouse
60 North Main St.
Coalville, UT 84017


Eastern Summit County Planning Commission

The Eastern Summit County Planning Commission is made up of residents of Eastern Summit County who serve three (3) year terms.

Some responsibilities of the Planning Commission include:

  1. Preparation of the Eastern Summit County General Plan.
  2. Review and make recommendations to the County Council regarding amendments to the Zoning Map;
  3. Review and make recommendations to the County Council regarding amendments to the Eastern Summit County Development Code;
  4. Hear, review, and approve or disapprove all applications for conditional uses, long term temporary uses, or subdivisions.

The current membership of the Eastern Summit County Planning Commission is listed below:


Member Name
Term Ends
Email
Tom Clyde - Chair 2020 tclyde@summitcounty.org
Tonja Hanson 
2019 thanson@summitcounty.org
Amy Rydalch 2021 arydalch@summitcounty.org
Don Sargent - Vice Chair 2021 dsargent@summitcounty.org
Rich Sonntag
2019 rsonntag@summitcounty.org
Marion Wheaton 2020 mwheaton@summitcounty.org
Bill Wilde 2020 bwilde@summitcounty.org

Governing Documents


There are 2 governing documents that guide any area's growth and development:

The General Plan describes the "big picture" citizens envision for their community. Using the General Plan as a guide, the Development Code is written to regulate how new development and redevelopment of existing areas can be done so that, over time, the citizens' vision is realized.